Energia Men’s All-Ireland League and Community Series Fixtures

The fixtures for the Energia Men’s All-Ireland League and Community Series were recently announced with details issued directly to clubs.

The action gets underway on the weekend of Saturday September 26th with the start of the Energia Community Series – a standalone competition that will see AIL teams from within the same province against each other in league format.

Leinster, Munster and Ulster all have two conferences each based on final positions in the 2019-20 Energia All-Ireland League.

There are some novel pairings on the opening weekend where in Leinster Conference 1, Dublin sides St. Mary’s College and Clontarf meet at this level for the first time in over two years.

The top ranked Ulster teams from 2019-20 meet in their Conference 1 with Malone at home to Ballynahinch.

Connacht has a single conference of five teams, four of which are from Division 2B  in the AIL. Division 2A outfit Buccaneers host Sligo while Galway Corinthians are at home to Ballina.

Teams in Munster Conference 1 range across three AIL Divisions with the likes of Division 2A outfit Cashel away to Shannon in Round 1.

Stage 2 of the season will commence from January 1st and sees the easing of travel restrictions for teams in line with the IRFU’s principles of player welfare and COVID-19 Risk Mitigation.

Greg Barrett, Chair of the IRFU’s Rugby Committee, explained:

“Our national competitions have a regional focus in Stage 1 of the season and that brings with it unique opportunities and classic derbies. At the same time, clubs are returning to rugby in a safe and responsible manner and the season’s structure is an extension of that.

“Where clubs will meet again in the Energia All-Ireland League in 2021, the fixture has been reversed so we can expect a lot of clubs looking forward to returning the favour in terms of both hospitality and friendly rivalry from January onwards.”