Ireland squad for 2020 Guinness Six Nations Championship

New Ireland Head Coach Andy Farrell has named a 35 player squad which will be captained by Johnny Sexton for the 2020 Guinness Six Nations Championship.

The 35-man squad includes five uncapped players: Ulster duo Billy Burns and Tom O’Toole and the Leinster trio Max Deegan, Caelan Doris and Ronan Kelleher.

Four development players, namely Ryan Baird, Robert Baloucoune, Harry Byrne and Will Connors, have also been selected and they will train with the squad at the warm weather camp in Portugal in the lead up to Ireland’s opening Guinness Six Nations game against Scotland on Saturday, 1st February

Speaking to, Andy Farrell said:

“As we progress through the Championship we will look to select sides that we believe are best suited to the task at the weekend.  We will keep a close eye on the provincial performances in the PRO14 not just for the players in the squad that will transition back for game minutes but also for those players that were part of the wider selection discussions over the past few weeks.”

The decision to appoint Leinster’s Johnny Sexton was explained by Farrell, who stated:

“We have appointed Johnny as captain for the 6 Nations Championship; you can see what it means to him and the enthusiasm he will bring to the role.  He has been developing as a leader for a number of years with Ireland, Leinster and the Lions and he will be a positive voice for the group.”

Ireland open their 2020 Guinness Six Nations campaign against Scotland at the Aviva Stadium on Saturday 1st February before welcoming Wales to the Aviva a week later on Saturday 8th February. Ireland’s final home game of the 2020 Championships is against Italy on Saturday 7th March. All three home fixtures are sold out.

Ireland Guinness Six Nations Squad 2020

Forwards (19)
Max Deegan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Caelan Doris (UCD/Leinster)
Ultan Dillane (Corinthians/Connacht)
Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster)
Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)
Dave Heffernan (Buccaneers/Connacht)
Iain Henderson (Academy/Ulster)
Rob Herring (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
Ronan Kelleher (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Jack McGrath (St Mary’s College/Ulster)
Jack O’Donoghue (UL Bohemians/Munster)
Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster)
Tom O’Toole (Banbridge/Ulster)
Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster)
James Ryan (UCD/Leinster)
CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster)
Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster)

Backs (16)
Will Addison (Enniskillen/Ulster)
Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht)
Billy Burns (Ulster)
Ross Byrne (UCD/Leinster)
Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster)
John Cooney (Terenure College/Ulster)
Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster)
Chris Farrell (Young Munster/Munster)
Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Leinster)
Dave Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Jordan Larmour (St Mary’s College/Leinster)
Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster)
Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)
Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster)
Jonathan Sexton (St Mary’s College/Leinster)
Jacob Stockdale (Lurgan/Ulster)

Development Players
Ryan Baird (Dublin University/Leinster)
Robert Baloucoune (Enniskillen/Ulster)
Harry Byrne (Lansdowne/Leinster)
Will Connors (UCD/Leinster)

Ireland Guinness Six Nations 2020 Fixtures & Kick-off Times

IRELAND v Scotland
Saturday 1st February, 2020, Aviva Stadium, KO 4.45pm.

Saturday 8th February, 2020, Aviva Stadium, KO 2.15pm.

England v IRELAND
Sunday 23rd February, 2020, Twickenham Stadium, KO 3pm.

Saturday 7th March, 2020, Aviva Stadium, KO 2.15pm.

France v IRELAND
Saturday 14th March, 2020, Stade de France, KO 8pm.