Ireland team to play Scotland – Larmour and Conway start

Ireland's man of the match James Ryan in action against Wales at the Aviva on Saturday.

There is no Rob Kearney, Keith Earls or Joey Carberry in the starting Irish team to play Scotland.

The Ireland coaching group have named the match day squad for the opening game of the Rugby World Cup in Japan as they take on Scotland in Yokohama on Sunday afternoon (KO: 08.45am Irish Time).
Rory Best captain’s the side and is partnered in the front row by Cian Healy and Tadgh Furlong.  Iain Henderson and James Ryan are selected in the second row with Peter O’Mahony, Josh van der Flier and CJ Stander named as the starting loose forwards.
Conor Murray and Jonathan Sexton are named at half-back.  Bundee Aki and Garry Ringrose are the midfield combination with Jordan Larmour at full-back supported by Jacob Stockdale and Andrew Conway on the wings.
The replacements are Niall Scannell, Dave Kilcoyne, Andrew Porter, Tadgh Beirne, Jack Conan, Luke McGrath, Jack Carty and Chris Farrell.
The game will be televised by EIR, RTE (ROI) and ITV (NI) and live radio commentary from RTE Radio (ROI) and BBC (NI).
IRELAND team to play Scotland, Pool A RWC19, Yokohama Stadium,
Sunday 22nd September, 2019
15. Jordan Larmour (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 16 caps
14. Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster) 15 caps
13. Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster) 24 caps
12. Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 20 caps
11. Jacob Stockdale (Lurgan/Ulster) 21 caps
10. Jonathan Sexton (St Marys College/Leinster) 84 caps
9. Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 74 caps
1. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 91 caps
2. Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster) 120 caps CAPTAIN
3. Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 36 caps
4. Iain Henderson (Queens University/Ulster) 48 caps
5. James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) 19 caps
6. Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 59 caps
7. Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster) 19 caps
8. CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 33 caps
16. Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster) 16 caps
17. Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster) 31 caps
18. Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 18 caps
19. Tadhg Beirne (Lansdowne/Munster) 8 caps
20. Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 16 caps
21. Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) 14 caps
22. Jack Carty (Buccaneers/Connacht) 7 caps
23. Chris Farrell (Young Munster/Munster) 7 caps


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here