Connect with us

International Rugby

Māori All Blacks squad announced to play Ireland match

Rugby Team News – Māori All Blacks have announced their squad to play Ireland  next Wednesday morning, kick off 8:05am Irish time.

Cullen Grace (Ngāti Whakaue / Ngāti Raukawa), Sam Nock (Ngāpuhi) and Max Hicks (Ngāti Ranginui / Ngāi te Rangi) will join the Māori All Blacks squad this week ahead of the team’s first match against Ireland on Wednesday 29 June at FMG Stadium Waikato.

Nock debuted for the Māori All Blacks in 2018 and was selected in the squad last year. He was part of the Blues team this season, playing in the Super Rugby Pacific final against the Crusaders last weekend and is a key player for Northland in the Bunnings NPC.

Hicks joins the squad for the first time after showing huge potential in the 2021 Bunnings NPC for Tasman Mako. Hicks was selected for the Highlanders this year and debuted in the Super Rugby Pacific 2022 competition.

Joining Nock and Hicks is Grace, the youngest player to be named in the New Zealand Super Rugby squads for 2020. Following a stand-out season for the Crusaders, Grace was selected in the All Blacks squad in the same year (2020) and joins the Māori All Blacks as a debutant.

Māori All Blacks Head Coach Clayton McMillan said:

“It’s great to have three quality additions to the wider squad, we welcome back Sam Nock and the two debutants Cullen Grace and Max Hicks. These guys will give us a more flexibility to prepare and put up our best performance against the top tier team Ireland over the coming weeks.”

Māori All Blacks vs Ireland: Wednesday 29 June at 7.05PM (NZST) at FMG Stadium Waikato, HAMILTON

Māori All Blacks v Ireland: Tuesday 12 July at 7.05PM (NZST) at Sky Stadium, WELLINGTOn

Māori All Blacks Squad:
*denotes new caps

Tamaiti Williams Ngāpuhi Canterbury Crusaders
Ollie Norris Ngāpuhi Waikato Chiefs
Marcel Renata Ngāti Whānaunga / Ngāi Takoto Auckland Blues
Jermaine Ainsley* Te Rārawa / Te Arawa Otago Highlanders
Tyrel Lomax Muaupoko / Ngāi Tūhoe Tasman Hurricanes
Leni Apisai Ngāti Awa Auckland
Kurt Eklund Ngāti Kahu Bay of Plenty Blues
Tyrone Thompson* Ngāi Tāmanuhiri / Ngāti Rangiwewehi Hawke’s Bay Chiefs
Isaia Walker-Leawere Ngāti Porou Hawke’s Bay Hurricanes
Manaaki Selby-Rickit Ngāti Raukawa / Ngāti Tūwharetoa Bay of Plenty Highlanders
Josh Dickson Ngāi Tahu Otago Highlanders
Loose Forwards
Reed Prinsep Te Rārawa Canterbury Hurricanes
Caleb Delany* Ngāti Tūwharetoa Wellington Hurricanes
Billy Harmon Ngāi Tahu Canterbury Highlanders
Te Kamaka (TK) Howden* Ngāi Tūhoe Manawatū Hurricanes
Cameron Suafoa* Ngāpuhi Auckland Blues
Half Backs
TJ Perenara* Ngāti Rangitihi Wellington Hurricanes
Brad Weber Ngāti Porou Hawke’s Bay Chiefs
First Five
Josh Ioane Te Rārawa Otago Chiefs
Ruben Love* Te Atiawa Wellington Hurricanes
Alex Nankivell Ngāti Pikiao Tasman Chiefs
Rameka Poihipi Ngāti Whakaue Canterbury Chiefs
Billy Proctor Ngāi Te Rangi / Ngāpuhi Wellington Hurricanes
Bailyn Sullivan* Ngāti Kahungunu Waikato Hurricanes
Outside Backs
Connor Garden-Bachop* Ngāti Awa Wellington Highlanders
Josh Moorby* Ngāti Maniapoto Northland Hurricanes
Zarn Sullivan* Ngāti Kahungunu Auckland Blues
Shaun Stevenson Ngāpuhi North Harbour Chiefs

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Advertisement Sports Crests by Vincent Devine

Irish Podcasts

United Rugby

More in International Rugby